### Minutes

# October 18, 2022, Birmingham Bloomfield Democratic Club Bloomfield Township Campus

### Call to order by the Chair 7:08 p.m./Roll Call of Officers

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Debbie Rosenman. Officers include: Debbie Rosenman (Chair), Emery Pence (Vice Chair), Gail Whitty (Treasurer), Charles Gaba (Corresponding Secretary), Andrew Corey (recording secretary), Corrinne Shoop (at-large).

Approval of Agenda: Discussion (Passed)

### Approval of Minutes: Discussion (Passed)

Report of the Chair: Chair Debbie Rosenman gave the following report:

## Club Chair Report for October 18, 2022

We are down to the wire with Election Day only 21 days away. Many of us have already voted absentee. But now is the time to help get others to vote. Talk to everyone you know... your high school friends, your hairdresser, other people outside our club area, and remind them to vote. Tell them we are voting to save our democracy!

Help is still needed to do Voter Protection on Election Day. If you can help, google "MDP Voter Protection" to sign up. Training is provided so do this right away.

## **Treasurer's Report: Gail Whitty gave the Treasurer's Report. Precinct Delegate Committee Report by Allen Wolf**:

We believe 79% of our voters are voting absentee. That is why we put all of our energy into these early weeks.

Precinct Delegates of Birmingham, Bloomfield and Southfield Township are rocking this election. I estimate we have reached about 95% of the identified Democratic households in our Club area with over 65,000 pieces of literature, including over 17,000 voter guides. We have had contact with probably 3 times as many voters as last election, because of the work of about 150 Precinct Delegates and volunteers. Where we didn't have a precinct delegate who could go door-to-door, and we had volunteers step in or had Precinct Delegates who did double duty. We mailed our Voter Guides to over 850 homes that we had pre-identified as inaccessible. As a result of this year's canvas, we have identified several hundred more.

While we have received generous donations to our PAC, we need more. We had hoped to provide money to school board candidates, but we didn't raise enough to do that. The PAC money is needed for literature, and it is needed to support candidates. We will also need to build this nest egg to get ready for 2024. You can donate to our PAC on our website. Thank you.

# Chair Debbie Rosenman introduced Emery Pence to speak about the Postcard Warriors Committee:

Efforts taken by the committee will be aimed at Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Georgia, and Michigan. The amount of time for this activity can range between 30-40 minutes.

Chair Debbie Rosenman spoke about our Membership Drive efforts

Chair Debbie Rosenman introduced Megan Owens to speak about Oakland County Public Transportation.

Chair Debbie Rosenman introduced Katie Costello to speak about Reproductive Freedom.

Chair Debbie Rosenman introduced Martin Brook, Bloomfield Township Clerk to speak about Election Security

### **Good and Welfare**

-Election of Officers for 2023 reminder (Election will take place in NOVEMBER)

-County Commissioner Dave Woodward issued a PAC Challenge. He will match up to \$1000 of matching funds donated to our PAC by next Tuesday, October 25<sup>th</sup>.

-Allen Wolf made a motion to change the club's name. The new proposed name for Birmingham Bloomfield Democrats is "Birmingham Bloomfield Area Democratic Club". Voting will take place for this club name change in November. Members must have their dues paid and be members of the Michigan Democratic Party, to cast a vote in this meeting.

The next meeting is Tuesday, November 15 at 6:30 p.m. at the Birmingham Community House. We will celebrate the successful election and elect new Officers.

#### List of Members Present:

Prashanth Balusu	Diana Lopez
Howard Baron	Megan Owens
Martin Brook	Emery Pence
Margaret Brooks	Linda Pence
Hayden Buckfire	Nancy Reed
Rose Burke	Erika Sharfeddin Rice
Katie Costello	Nina Robb
Will Clemans	Cynthia Shaw
Gabe Efros	Pat Sheren
Miriam Halprin	Gene Simms
Jared Hocking	Paul Stoychoff
Steffi Keywell	Allen Wolf
Dave Woodward	Linda Zlotoff

Motion to adjourn. Adjourned, 8:45 p.m. Duly Submitted, Andrew Corey Recording Secretary